top of page
  • Steven Petersen

Gonzo Reporting: Can "SHAZAM!" Save the DCEU?

Anxious and tense aren’t usually words I associate with going to the movies, but that’s exactly what I’m feeling on my drive to Edwards Grand Teton Stadium. My thoughts are running a million miles per hour, fueled by an impending voice screaming, “it’s not going to be good.” I enter the desolate lobby, take my place in the single-file line of attendees and nervously wait for the clock to strike seven. A varied demographic surrounds me. A family looking to calm a pack of screaming children resides ahead, while three pessimistic comic book fans are looming in the distance. “These movies are fun,” says one of them. “But they’re not Marvel-movie fun. I’m only seeing it to kill time before ‘Endgame.’” With my demoner and posture, you’d think I was slumped in a hospital hallway waiting for the outcome of a complicated surgery. Can they fix this or is the damage already done? Though the stakes aren’t that high, the premiere for “SHAZAM!” represents the last chance for DC to surgically repair the broken versions of my childhood heroes.


Since it began with “Man of Steel” in 2013, the DC Extended Universe (DCEU) has failed time and time again to properly capture the magic of its larger than life characters and source material. The studio’s shortcomings are driven by its pursuit of chasing the success that the Marvel Cinematic Universe (MCU) has slowly obtained over the course of a decade. As opposed to gradually building storylines leading to a culminating event, like its contemporary did with 2012’s “The Avengers,” DC opted to play fast and loose with its characters in hopes of “catching up.” The race is similar to two NASCAR drivers barreling towards the finish line. The only difference is that Marvel is on its last lap, while DC has just got its tires spinning.


Though I consider the first two installments of the six movies released to personally be a success, the remaining four have left much to be desired in terms of critical and commercial appeal. Films like 2017’s “Justice League” forced characters on to the audience without providing subsequent depth and development to heroes like Cyborg and The Flash. They’re forced upon the viewer without giving the audience a chance to get to know them, or even care, fully expecting them to receive a warm reception. It’s like someone saying, “I love you,” on the first date. It’s awkward, makes no sense and just doesn’t work.


As a result of DC’s decision to rush storylines and characters, the critical and commercial response to its films has suffered. With a reported budget of $300 million, “Justice League” possesses an average Metacritic score of 45, and a meer box office gross of $657 million, according to Forbes. After “Aquaman” attained over $1.1 billion at the box office, the highest of any DC Extended Universe movie, many praised the film as a sign of the studio getting its properties back on track. I was not one of those people.


As I stand awaiting the fate of the superheroes I hold so dearly, the wave of emotions I felt after my viewings of “Justice League” and “Aquaman” begin to arise. Disappointment, sadness and fear are all coursing through my veins, and the occasional screaming child isn’t aiding my situation. Dressed in a Batman shirt, fellow movie-goer Harrison Moeller shares a similar sentiment. He’s supported the DCEU since its inception in 2013, but a string of poorly conceived adaptations has left a sour taste in his mouth. “I’m ready to just give up if it isn’t good,” states the self-proclaimed superhero aficionado. “They’ve kind of ruined the characters for me in a way. I used to pick up a Batman comic book and be excited to read, but now all I can think about is how badly they’ve messed up with the characters on screen. My perception has changed.”


On paper, it’s logistically impossible to produce a bad film with the expansive lore found in the DC Universe. With iconic characters like Batman and Superman in their possession, coupled with an incredibly diverse and complex rogues gallery, it’d seem like a surefire bet that the studio would develop a successful cinematic universe that could rival Marvel’s. Yet, DC still finds a way to miss the mark. Whether it be poor casting, like Jesse Eisenberg’s reptilian portrayal of Lex Luthor, or the incohesive storyline of “Aquaman,” there’s never been a cohesively well-rounded DC Extended Universe movie. From promotional material and audience reactions alone, “SHAZAM!” appears to be finally writing the wrongs of the cinematic universe. The only problem is, I said the exact same thing about 2016’s “Suicide Squad.” And 2017’s “Justice League.” And 2018’s “Aquaman.” The list is never ending.


“I’m not getting my hopes up,” says Moeller’s 14-year-old brother Griffin. “The trailers look good, but I’ve grown up with these movies and have watched them fail over and over again, which sucks because the potential is totally there.” And that’s precisely the problem. The DCEU has been trying to replicate the success of the MCU for over half a decade without doing anything to separate itself from its competitor. Yes, both properties deal with superpowered-beings, but the characters and worlds they are apart of are entirely different. Batman is a character derived in tragedy and consumed by darkness, so having Ben Affleck blurt out quips like he’s Tony Stark is off-putting, to say the least.


With the amount of times I’ve been burned by DCEU films, it’s reasonable to question why I even see these movies during their theatrical runs. In an age where digital streaming takes precedence in the entertainment industry, nothing compares to watching movie on opening night with like-minded fans in the crowd. Though objectively DC’s films have been lackluster, there have been standout moments such as Wonder Woman introduction in “Batman v. Superman: Dawn of Justice.” These instances of excitement cause the theaters to erupt into chaos. That alone is something I can’t get from the comfort of my couch.


However, it doesn’t make up for the misguided direction of the DCEU. There hasn’t been a clear vision for the shared universe other than to ride on the coattails of the MCU. It’s been a constant repetition of lackluster films that has left me wondering, when are they going to learn their lesson? In an interview with The Hollywood Reporter, Warner Brothers Picture Group chairman Toby Emmerich said that the underwhelming performance of “Justice League” caused the studio to rethink its entire film strategy. “We all feel like we've turned a corner now,” he noted, optimistically. “We're playing by the DC playbook, which is very different than the Marvel playbook. We are far less focused on a shared universe.”


The studio acknowledging its failures has helped ease my mind to some degree, but the anxiety is still there. If “SHAZAM!” doesn’t meet my already low expectations, I’m fully prepared to walk out on this abusive relationship that keeps pummeling my childhood heroes. My hand is hovering over the power socket, fully prepared to pull the plug, while the theater usher is the doctor letting me know there is one more chance for resuscitation. I gradually make my way to my seat, reflecting on all the wrongs that have occurred in the six years since “Man of Steel.” As the lights dim, the two hour surgery of the DCEU begins. The outcome: an overwhelming success.


For the first time leaving a DCEU film, I’m not conflicted. “SHAZAM!” does everything the past four films have failed to do. It tells a cohesive story that is packed with great performances, has stellar character development, and, most of all, has heart. The emptiness of “Suicide Squad” and disjointedness of “Justice League” are nowhere to be found. Instead, the script balances earning emotional moments and awe-inspiring action sequences, which gives me a reason to care about 14-year-old Billy Batson and his struggle to be a superhero.

I’m filled with joy and satisfaction, but, most of all, I’m walking out of Edwards Grand Teton Stadium excited for the future of the DCEU. The self-contained story allows for a more intimate narrative to be told, which is clearly what the franchise needed. It isn’t trying to set up an entire cinematic universe in a two hour time slot, and the world isn’t on the brink of destruction. The film is exactly what I want from all DCEU movies: a smaller scale. If the average Rotten Tomatoes rating of 91% of “SHAZAM!” is any indicator, I think the once lost franchise has finally found its way. It’s distinct from the MCU and is a nice change of pace from the populated superhero genre. DC knocked the ball out of the park, and sent it soaring for miles. It’s a far cry from the anxiously tense thoughts that were consuming me when I entered the building. For the first time, I’m eager to see what the future holds for the now-promising franchise.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Feature Profile: Looking for a Big Break

An ominous feeling lingers throughout Arts Bank on the opening night of “American Idiot.” A sea of eerily lit individuals is spread across the stage, glued to the illuminating light of their cellphone

bottom of page